Kundali Milan

Kundali milan helps in making important decision like selection of life partner. Vedic astrology predicts future that helps in making informed and wise decisions.
For marriage the Janam Kundalis of girl and boy are matched for compatibility. This Gun Milan a consists of eight tests. The score of each is added for final count. For the alliance the count below eighteen is considered incompatible, eighteen and twenty four is average but acceptable and between twenty five and thirty six is considered good.

Varna matching is for skills, abilities, and personality of a person. There are of four classes of Varna i.e. Brahmins, Kshatriyas, Vaishyas, Shudras. These are ranked from highest to lowest with Brahmin being the highest. The Varna of the groom should be higher than that of the bride else it may cause conflict within the family. Maximum score is 1.

Vashya tells about dedicated and compatible relationship between the two. There are five groups of Vashya matching

  1. Manava – Mithuna, Kanya, Tula, the first 15 degrees of Dhanu, and Kumbha.
  2. Vanachara – Simha
  3. Chatushpada – Mesha, Vrishabha, the second 15 degrees of Dhanu and the first 15 degrees of Makara.
  4. Jalachara – Karka, Meena, the second 15 degrees of Makara.
  5. Keeta – Vrishchika

Rules for matching Vasya groups are –

– Chatushpada, Manava, and Jalachara are Vasya to the Vanachara group.
– Chatushpada, Jalachara, and Keeta are Vasya to the Manava group.
– Jalachara are the food for the Manava.
– Chatushpada are the food for the Vanachara.

If both have the same group then both are Chatushpada and the Vasya is considered good earning two points. If one’s group is Vasya to the other e.g if the bride’s group is Chatushpada and the groom’s group is Manava then point earned is one. If one’s group is food to the other e.g the bride is Jalachara and the groom is Manava then half point is earned. In case neither the bride nor the groom is Vasya to the other the point earned is Zero. Maximum score is 2.

Tara matching tells about bride and groom’s health and well-being. The birth tara of both partners is compared. The twenty seven Nakshatras are divided into Nine Tara groups which form the Janma Tara, Sampat Tara, Vipat Tara, Kshem Tara, Pratyari Tara, Sadhak Tara, Vadh Tara, Mitra Tara and Ati-Mitra Tara. Points are calculated by counting from the bride’s birth tara to the groom and dividing this number by nine. This process is repeated from the groom’s birth tara to that of the bride. In case the remainders of both calculations are an even number then the match is auspicious and three points are awarded. In case only one of the remainders is an even number, one-and-a-half points are awarded. In case both remainders are odd numbers then zero points are awarded. Maximum score is 3.

Yoni matching tells about the physical and sexual compatibility. Animals represent yoni and there are fourteen types with two Nakshatras belonging to each one of them.
These are – Ashwa, Gaja, Mesha, Sarpa, Shwan, Marjarah, Mushaka, Gau, Mahisha, Vyagrah, Mriga, Vanara, Nakula and Singha.

Behavior of each animal towards the other forms the five behavioural categories.

  1. Swabhava Yoni indicates that the animals are same and marriage with four points is considered to be auspicious.
  2. Friendly Yoni tells that the animals are friendly and three points are given.
  3. Neutral Yoni indicates that the animals are neutral towards each other and two points are given.
  4. Enemy Yoni tells that the animals are enemies and one point is considered.
  5. Sworn Enemy Yoni tells that the animals are sworn enemies with zero points are considered.

Maximum score is 4.

Graha Maitri matching indicates the strength of the love between the couple. The moon sign’s lords are compared in the birth charts of both. The point score is given basis the relationship between the two moon sign’s lords.

If two lords are the same or are friends five points, if one lord is friendly and the other is neutral then four points, if both lords are neutral then three points, if one lord is friendly and the other is as an enemy then one point, if one lord is neutral and the other is as an enemy then half a point, if both lords are enemies then zero points are considered. Maximum score is 5.

Gana indicates an individual’s temperament. There are three groups of Nakshatras.
-Devata – Ashwini, Mrigashira, Punarvasu, Pushyami, Hasta, Swati, Anuradh, Sravanam, Revati. Devata being charitable, spiritual, represent piety and who are not materialistic.
-Manushya – Bharani, Rohini, Aardra, Purva Phalguni, Uttara Phalguni, Poorvaashadha, Uttaraashadha, Purva Bhadrapada, Uttara Bhadrapada.

Manushya are evenly balanced between spiritual and materialistic
Rakshasa – Kritika, Aaslesha, Magha, Chitra, Vishaka, Jyeshtha, Moola, Dhanista, Shatabhisha.
Rakshasa are the dominant, self-willed and most materialistic.
Points are considered as per compatibility of the temperaments of the bride and groom. Maximum score is 6.

Bhakut match is used for verifying overall health, welfare and prosperity after marriage. Bhakut Dosha can affect the intimacy between the couple, delay or loss of progeny and can cause anxiety between couples.

Bhakut Dosha is derived upon the number counted from the bride’s Rashi to the groom’s Rashi and vice versa. Possible combinations are – 1/1, 1/7, 2/12, 3/11,4/10, 5/9 and 6/8. These combinations are divided into two groups and considered as auspicious and inauspicious.

Auspicious Bhakut is the combinations of – 1/1, 1/7, 3/11 and 4/10.
Inauspicious Bhakut is the combinations of – 2/12, 5/9 and 6/8.
For auspicious Bhakut seven points are considered and for inauspicious Bhakut Zero points are considered. Maximum score is 7.

Nadi match indicates the genetic compatibility of  the bride and the groom. The main purpose of marriage was considered to produce offspring and further family lineage. For Nadi match the Nakshatras are divided into three groups.

  1. Adi – Ashwini, Aardra, Punarvasu, Uttara Phalguni, Hasta, Jyeshtha, Moola, Shatabhisha, Purva Bhadrapada
  2. Madhya – Bharani, Mrigashira, Pushyami, Purva Phalguni, Chitra, Anuradha, Poorvaashadha, Dhanistha, Uttara Bhadrapada
  3. Antya – Kritika, Rohini, Aaslesha, Magha, Swati, Vishakha, Uttaraashadha, Shravani, Revati

The only rule applicable is that the bride and groom should not have the same Nadi. For differing Nadi eight points and for same Nadi zero points are given. Maximum score is 8.

Apart from the above Gun Milan there are other factors like present condition of various Grahas and their influence that needs to be considered. There are factors that can affect the various Gun Milan Doshas. An astrologer can do a deep study and suggest ways to nullify the effect of various Doshas.