Birth Chart Study

Jyotisha is derived from Sanskrit word “jyóti” meaning “light such as that of the sun or the moon or heavenly body “. This traditional astrology system is known as Hindu astrology, Indian astrology and Vedic astrology. Jyotisha includes the study of astronomy, astrology and science of timekeeping using the movements of astronomical bodies.

Kundali also known as the birth chart or horoscope is an diagram used for evaluating and predicting one’s future. Date of birth, time and place is required to create a kundali. Study of Kundali takes into account the birth details, placement and state of planets and zodiac signs. A kundali holds the key to one’s past, present, and future and helps understanding physical, emotional, mental, spiritual traits, likes and dislikes, inclinations, hobbies. It is useful for marriage match making, map challenges, obstacles, opportunities, guides through traits, characteristics, shortcomings and prowess, professional life, business ventures, finances, wealth , career choices, academic life, creativity, enemies, diseases and offspring. 

Analysing Kundali

The first step is to identify the Lagan sign. The number mentioned in the first house of the birth chart represents the lagan. The twelve planets are denoted by numbers 1 to 12.

Mesha – 1, Vrishabh – 2, Mithun – 3, Kark – 4, Singha – 5, Kanya – 6, Tula – 7, Vrishchik – 8, Dhanu – 9, Makar – 10, Kumbha – 11, Meen – 12

One’s personality depends upon the Lagna & Lord of the Lagna and the influence of the various Grahas present in the Lagna, position of the Lagna Lord and Grahas present along with Lagna Lord. 

One’s Nature and temperament depends upon the position of Moon, the Grahas influencing the Moon and those present along with the Moon. 

The Sun represents One’s Soul & Body and its placement is very important for correct assessment of the Kundali.

The Kundali charts the position of the Nine Grahas that have certain vedic significance and influences one’s life and personality.

  1. Surya – Ruler, source of energy & life, king of all planets, masculinity.
  2. Chandra – Mind, inner self, feminine in nature, intellect, fertility and good memory.
  3. Buddha – Speech, communication, witty and intellectual.
  4. Mangal – Courage, passion, physical strength, short-tempered, argumentative and daring.
  5. Shukra – Materialistic pleasure, love, romance, beauty, music, marriage, friendship and art.
  6. Brihaspati – Spirituality, higher education and research.
  7. Shani – Land, property, secrets, misfortune, hard work, sorrow, prestige and fame.
  8. Rahu – Foreign travel, grandparents, theft, gambling, drinking, over-ambitious, health problems, loss of reputation & finance
  9. Ketu – Grandparents, spiritual inclination, superstitions.

A kundali has 12 houses signifying several aspects of the life. The lord of the house and its placement in the Kundali, various Grahas influencing that house whether they are kaarak or akaarak Grahas. The position of the Karak Graha of that house should be seen. The Grahas present in the house needs to be seen as to whether they are kaarak or akaarak.

  1. First – Physical features, traits, characteristics and personality
  2. Second – Wealth, knowledge, finances and family
  3. Third – Communication skills, hobbies, and siblings
  4. Fourth – Happiness, mother, education, land & property and vehicle
  5. Fifth – Higher education, creativity, sense of humour, love & affair, progeny and past life experiences
  6. Sixth – Debt, profession, diseases, advocacy and enemies
  7. Seventh – Marriage, spouse, partnerships and relationships, import-export business and public image
  8. Eighth – Longevity, unexpected incidents and research
  9. Ninth – Beliefs, luck, mentor, father, religion and long distance travel
  10. Tenth – Career, karma, job and profession
  11. Eleventh – Ambitions, income, gains and elder siblings
  12. Twelfth – Expenditure

Navamsa Chart
If a Graha which is Kaarak in the Lagna Chart and is akaarak in the Navamsha Chart may not give expected results. It is importance that the position of each and every Graha is seen in both i.e. the Lagna and the Navamsha Chart.

Sometimes the Kundali may not be very good yet one leads a very good life. This happens due to presence of certain good Yogas including Raj Yoga. Similarly the Kundali may be very good yet one leads a miserable life which can be due to presence of bad yogas.

If we want to assess the timings of any particular event then attention needs to be given to the Grahas, their Dasha, Anterdasha and Gochar periods. Gochar means transit of Grahas as they are moving continuously and this impacts the life. Circumstances change when Grahas change positions.

Preference to the well being of One whose Kundali is being analysed should take precedence over those of the others.